Meringue Kisses

I’ve recently purchased a new digital camera with the help of my awesome friend, Liu. He’s such a great person and I’ve decided to make him some meringue cookies to thank him for helping me to run the errands.

Meringue Kisses

Okay, one thing about meringue is that you gotta be really free that whole day/night or you have plenty time to spare. My puny oven couldn’t hold large trays that I had to do batch by batch and each batch takes about 1 hr 40 min to bake and about 1 hour to cool completely in the oven. And this recipe yield 6 – 8 dozens of meringue kisses. Can you imagine how much time is required? Or is there anyone who could share a tip or two? That would definitely be very helpful to me. The long waiting caused my meringue to lose its shape and stiffness and collapsed. I’m not sure if I should store it in the refrigerator while baking or… ? And advice?

Just like what I’ve mentioned, this recipe yield 6 – 8 dozens of meringue kisses depending on the size of meringue kisses you want to have.

Meringue Kisses

Ingredients

  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ¼ tsp cream of tartar
  • Food coloring if any

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 100° C. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In large bowl, whisk together egg whites, sugar, cream of tartar. Place bowl on top of medium saucepan filled with barely simmering water.
  3. Gently whisk the mixture until the sugar dissolves. Roughly 10 minutes.
  4. Either transfer bowl to stand mixer or remove bowl from saucepan and whisk the mixture on high speed until stiff peaks form.
  5. Gently stir in the food coloring.
  6. Fit a pastry bag and pipe small star shapes. (I used Wilton 1M Piping tip)
  7. Bake cookies until crips not brown for 1 hr 40 min.

It’s yet another simple recipe. Hope you enjoy!
Jeul

4 thoughts on “Meringue Kisses

Leave a Reply

