Lemon Poppy Seed Madeleines

P1010966

My brother have been saccharine sweet these days, I’m unsure if that’s his attempt to cheer up a broken hearted sister or that’s just him all grown up and gentlemen. One day after his return from his military exercise, he got me a really cute huggable size “plushie” and gave it to me when I picked him at the airport. That was enough to make my day! Then the first morning when I got back from my exchange trip, he got me the local breakfast (chinese fried carrot cake) that I’ve been craving for. Knowing that I couldn’t decide between the sweet or savoury carrot cake, he bought both of them so that I could have both of the best world! How sweet, isn’t it? And and and one night, after a long day in school, I came home to a surprise on my desk. Few weeks back, we were shopping on ASOS.COM, and casually showed him that this really cute Ted Baker handphone pouch but have zero intention of getting it or anything of that sort. Guess what? That was the surprise I saw on my desk :’) There’s soooo many occasions that I would have listed them down all here but being someone who is really bad with words, I just can’t find the right words to put my feelings through.

Never have I felt so blessed, loved and thankful.

I remembered my brother telling me that madeleine was one of his favorite, so I decided to make some for him. And I adapted the recipe from here.

But I’m still going to write it down here because I noticed that some steps were missing from the recipe. And I made the modification based on my own experience.

P1010967

Lemon Poppy Seed Madeleines
yield 30 madeleines

Ingredients

  • 150g all-purpose flour
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 110g unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 20g light, floral honey
  • 5g dried active yeast
  • 10g poppy seeds
  • 15ml lemon juice
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • pinch of salt
  • extra butter for greasing

Method

  1. Melt the butter and set aside to cool.
  2. Combine eggs, sugar and honey; mix until pale, light and doubled in volume.
  3. Sift flour and salt, add to the egg mixture and mix until just combined.
  4. Add lemon juice, lemon zest, poppy seeds and yeast and mix again until just combined.
  5. Drizzle melted & cooled butter and mix until the dough is smooth. Cover the batter with cling film and refrigerate for 2 hours (or more, that’s fine too)
  6. Preheat oven to 225° C.
  7. Grease the madeleine pans and dust with flour. Tap out excess flour and fill the mould to 3/4 full.
  8. Bake at 200° C for about 3 – 4 minutes. Reduce heat to 180° C and bake for another 4 – 5 minutes till it turns golden brown.

There you go!

If you are worried that you might not have the time to wait for the batter to chill, you could even leave it to refrigerate overnight and bake it the next day. The reason behind chilling the batter is to help you attain the traditional madeleine bump. So… the colder the batter, the better the bump! I’ve read other baking blogs that mentioned the significance difference with chilled and “un-chilled” batter. If you are rushing for time and is perfectly fine without the bump, you could omit the step or reduce the chilling time.

Storing madeleine is a little tricky, it is always best served when they are freshly out of the oven to keep the crisp. Nonetheless, you could keep them in an airtight container for up to 2 days.

Hope the little tips help! :)

Enjoy.
Jeul

One thought on “Lemon Poppy Seed Madeleines

Leave a comment